## BEFORE THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS FOR COLUMBIA COUNTY, OREGON

In the Matter of Designating the Columbia County Sheriff and Sustin Hecht, Community Justice-Adult Order No. 72-2020 Division Supervisor, as the Supervisory Authority

WHEREAS, ORS 144.087 defines "supervisory authority" as the state or local corrections agency or official designated in each county by that County's board of county commissioners or county court to operate corrections supervision services, custodial facilities or both; and

WHEREAS, duties to operate supervision services and custodial facilities are split between the Columbia County Sheriff and the Director of the Department of Community Justice and it is appropriate to grant supervisory authority to both in the best interest of the County; and

WHEREAS, the Director of Community Justice is retiring as of July 31, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Justin Hecht, Department of Community Justice-Adult Division Supervisor, will be managing the day to day operations of the Department of Community Justice in the interim;

NOW, THEREFORE, it is hereby ordered as follows:

- The Board of Commissioners designates the Columbia County Sheriff as the supervisory authority
  over the Columbia County Jail and Jail inmates. Unless otherwise provided by law, all persons
  sentenced to terms of imprisonment or incarceration of 12 months or less shall be committed to
  the legal and physical custody of the Sheriff and shall serve their sentence at the direction of the
  Sheriff, including imposition of custodial programs other than incarceration, including but not
  limited to work release, furlough and other alternative programming.
- 2. Effective August 1, 2020, the Board of Commissioners designates the Justin Hecht, Department of Community Justice- Adult Division Supervisor, as the supervisory authority over all corrections supervision services not otherwise granted to the Columbia County Sheriff.

By:

Dated this  $\frac{29}{2}$  day of July, 2020.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS FOR COLUMBIA COUNTY, OREGON

Alex Tardif, Chair

Margaret Magruder, Commissioner

Henry Heimuller, Commissioner

Approved as to form

Office of County Counsel